Camperdown Chronicle

Tom Henry (back right) accepted the Paul Fitzgerald Memorial Trophy from members of the Fitzgerald family.

Division one award winners (l-r) Charlie Lucas, Fraser Lucas, Eddie Lucas and Simon Baker.

Division three trophy recipients (l-r) Tom Henry, Louis Darcy, Nick Jones and Greg Teal.

Albie Cheeseman, Myles Sinnott and Paddy Baker were presented with under 16 awards.

Bookaar’s under 13 cricketers received certificates to acknowledge their contribution to the club this season.


Pelicans recognise top contributors

BOOKAAR Cricket Club celebrated its 2019/20 season with its annual presentation day recently.

The Pelicans crowned their best players, batsmen and bowlers in division one, three and under 16 sides and handed out certificates to their under 13 squad.

A number of club awards were also presented including five wicket haul trophies, the coveted duck award and the prestigious Paul Fitzgerald Memorial Trophy.

The Pelicans finished the season with two grand final berths in the under 16s and division three, while the division one side finished fifth on the ladder.

Season 2019/20 award winners:

Division one:

Cricketer of the Year: Eddie Lucas 463 points;

Batting Average: Simon Baker 255 runs @ 63.75;

Bowling Average: Fraser Lucas 22 wickets @ 11.91;

Captain’s award: Charlie Lucas.

Division three:

Cricketer of the Year: Stephen Fitzgerald 497 points;

Batting Average: Nick Jones 243 runs @ 30.38;

Bowling Average: Greg Teal 23 wickets @ 13.43;

Captain’s award: Tom Henry.

Under 16s:

Cricketer of the Year: Paddy Baker 417 points;

Batting Average: Lewi Brown 186 runs @ 46.50;

Bowling Average: Albie Cheeseman 15 wickets @ 7.20;

Coach’s award: Myles Sinnott.

Duck awards: Greg Teal and Tim Fitzgerald.

Paul Fitzgerald Memorial Trophy: Tom Henry.