Bulls sweep Twenty20

Pomborneit completed an unbeaten run of nine matches en route to claiming South West Cricket’s division one Twenty20 title.

POMBORNEIT continued its winning run by taking out South West Cricket’s Fonterra Cup Twenty20 title on Saturday.

The Bulls capped off an unbeaten stretch of nine consecutive T20 division one victories with a three-wicket triumph over Bookaar in the final at Terang.

The Pelicans won the toss and opted to bat, but just three players reached double figures, dismissed for 97 in the 19th over.

Player of the series Lahiru Fernando (3/20) did the major damage with the ball for Pomborneit, while fellow Sri Lankan Tharaka Sendanakaye (2/21) and paceman Brad Hillman (2/14) also claimed multiple scalps.

Pomborneit’s Lahiru Fernando was named Fonterra Cup player of the series.

Tim Fitzgerald (24) was the leading Pelicans’ batsman, while Henry Green (17) and opener Rohan Symes (12) provided the only real support.

Despite chasing a relatively small target, the Bulls took their time in securing victory, surpassing Bookaar’s score with five balls to spare.

Sendanayake (33), along with openers Tim Place (18) and Dave Murphy (12) were the mainstays in Pomborneit’s innings.

For the Pelicans, Charlie Lucas (2/14) picked up the two openers, before Fraser Lucas (2/11) and Simon Baker (2/15) were also able to break through on multiple occasions.

In the semi-finals held earlier in the day, both of last year’s grand finalists Mortlake and Heytesbury Rebels were eliminated from the competition.

An unbeaten half century from Tom Place led the Bulls to a score of 5/141 against Heytesbury Rebels.

The Bulls then bowled well in restricting the Rebels to 6/107, with Fernando (2/8) the leading wicket taker.

Bookaar booked its berth in the decider courtesy of a seven-wicket win over Mortlake at S.A. Wright Oval.

The Cats posted a competitive score of 7/150, led by Clinton Baker (57), Isaac Wareham (34) and skipper Todd Lamont (25).

Fraser Lucas (2/34) was the sole Pelican to pick up multiple wickets, before he also guided his side across the line with the bat.

His unbeaten knock of 60, along with 62 from younger brother Eddie, saw Bookaar eclipse the target with six balls to spare.

Courtesy of their Fonterra Cup win, the Bulls will now go on to represent South West Cricket in the Sungold T20 Cup which begins in Warrnambool this Sunday.

The tournament will feature champion clubs from eight associations, culminating in a $10,000 winner take all final in Allansford on January 27.

Comments are closed.