Bulls sitting pretty

Pomborneit skipper Grant Place’s knock of 35 helped the Bulls to a comfortable victory against Noorat last Saturday.

POMBORNEIT will enter the Christmas break on top of the ladder in both South West Cricket competitions following the latest round of matches.

The Bulls secured victories over Noorat and Heytesbury Rebels to replace Bookaar in first spot, with the Pelicans’ match against Cobden lasting just four balls.

Against Noorat, Tim Place (59), Grant Place (35) and Tom Place (38) ensured the Bulls made a strong start, with the trio helping the Bulls to post a competitive score.

Grant Place and Tom Place took turns at supporting Tim Place as the opener set up the innings after Dave Murphy was dismissed.

Together, the three Places all chipped in to help Pomborneit pass 100 and then 150 before Lahiru Fernando (31 not out) produced a handy little cameo late to take Pomborneit to their score of 7/187.

In reply, Noorat, who were batting with only 10, cobbled together 76 before being bowled out in the 17th over.

Fernando (4/7) and his Sri Lankan counterpart Tharaka Sendanayake (2/8) did the bulk of the damage with their spin, while Tim Place (1/11), Clinton Place (1/16) and Brad Hillman (1/16) took a wicket each.

In the second match, Pomborneit made light work of Heytesbury Rebels’ score of 9/99, passing the target in 12 overs.

Murphy (38 not out) and Tim Place (25) got the Bulls off to a fast start while Fernando (13 not out) and Grant Place (12) also reached double figures.

With the ball, the Bulls bowling stocks showed their wares, restricting the Rebels ability to score.

After Travis Brown and Hamish Huffadine got the Rebels off to a quick start, the Bulls continually applied constant pressure as the wickets started to tumble.

The Rebels were able to bat out their full allotment of overs, but failed to pass triple figures.

Fernando (3/20) again was the pick of the bowlers, while Stephen Walters (2/7) and Tim Place (2/30) both picked up multiple wickets.

At Mortlake, Camperdown suffered a loss to Terang in its sole Twenty20 fixture.

Terang batted first and posted a score of 7/128 from their 20 overs, before the Lakers were restricted to 3/77 in the run chase.

The Lakers’ second match against Mortlake was moved to this coming Saturday.

And at Cobden, Bookaar and Cobden’s match was deemed a draw after the turf wicket was determined to be unplayable after four balls.

In other division one results, Heytesbury Rebels defeated Noorat by 30 runs and Mortlake beat Terang by eight wickets.

South West Cricket division one fixtures will resume on January 5 with the final rounds of Twenty20 matches.

Comments are closed.